banner USF Home College of Arts & Sciences OASIS myUSF USF A-Z Index

USF Home > College of Arts and Sciences > Department of Integrative Biology

Welcome to the Department of Integrative Biology

vjharwood

We are a young department, formed in 2008. Integrative Biology is home to over 900 undergraduate students, an increase of more than 50% over the past four years. Faculty members have been recognized by the University for their excellent and innovative undergraduate instruction. IB is a key player in the University’s efforts to redesign courses for improved student learning, and is actively working to strengthen its curriculum in key areas such as marine biology and environmental biology. Integrative Biology Undergraduate program.

IB also is home to about 60 graduate students, attracting top notch students from across the nation and around the World to its graduate programs. Students completing the Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy degrees are highly successful in obtaining post-doctoral and faculty positions, and careers with state and federal agencies and in consulting or other private enterprises.

IB’s faculty members are engaged in research activities that involve, broadly, conservation biology, global change biology, freshwater biology and pollution, marine biology, biomechanics, disease biology, biogeochemistry, and evolutionary biology. IB faculty research integrates our understanding of living things across all levels of organization, from cells to organisms to populations to landscapes. Faculty members form research partnerships with a variety of public and private organizations, including NSF, NASA, NOAA, USFWS, Walt Disney World, the Natural Water Research Institute, the San Diego Zoo, the Tampa Bay Estuary Program, and many others. IB typically receives $7-9 million in external research funding per year. IB research has been featured on NPR’s “All Things Considered”, the National Geographic Channel, the Discovery Channel, and the BBC; and in The New York Times, Science Magazine, and National Geographic. We are actively seeking to strengthen our already excellent faculty with new, high impact faculty members who can help the University achieve the lofty research goals it has set for itself. Four of our faculty members have been inducted into the prestigious American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Valerie (Jody) Harwood, Ph.D.
Chair of the Department of Integrative Biology

 

Contact Information


Department Administration
Chair Valerie (Jody) Harwood, Ph.D. SCA 112B (813) 974-6229 or 974-1524 vharwood@usf.edu
Associate Chair Jason Rohr, Ph.D. SCA 309 (813) 974 0156 rohr@usf.edu
Graduate Program Director Stephen Deban, Ph.D. SCA 334 (813) 974-2242 sdeban@usf.edu
Undergraduate Curriculum Coordinator Christopher Osovitz SCA318 (813) 974 9109 osovitz@usf.edu

Office Staff
Academic Service Administrator Brieanne Matier SCA112A (813) 974-6210 bmatier@usf.edu
Graduate Program Specialist Christine Brubaker SCA 112C (813) 974-4747 brubaker@usf.edu
Undergraduate Program Specialist Karen Gilmore SCA 112E (813) 974-5188 kgilmore@usf.edu
Unit Research Administrator Taylor Dillon SCA 112B (813) 974-4588 tdillon@usf.edu
Laboratory Coordinator Mary Mangiapia SCA 116 813/974-5059 mangiapia@usf.edu

Facilities Managers
Electron Microscope Core Manager Clare Dennison, Ph.D. ISA 1046 (813) 974-2676 cldennison@usf.edu
Maintenance Shop Manager Clint Steffan ISA 1032 (813) 974-2667 cksteffan@usf.edu

Department Mailing Address

Department of Integrative Biology

USF Science Center SCA 112

University of South Florida

4202 East Fowler Avenue, SCA 110

Tampa, Fl 33620-5200

Main office

(813) 974-3250 or 974-6210